The Wild and Wacky Week So Far

It’s been one of those weeks that started suspiciously great, bottomed out in the middle, and looks like it could be rescued yet.

On Sunday, I watched a really cool concert featuring James Taylor called ‘One Man Band.’ He has to be one of the greatest musicians of all time. I was watching him play and analysing as much as I could about his technique and how the notes were working together. Bloody amazing. He was accompanied by someone on piano and organ, making the ‘One Man Band’ title beautifully ironic, but they worked so well together. He did alot of the old favourites, including my favourite of his called ‘Carolina in My Mind,’ as well as some of his more recent stuff. The show is on public television, so if you get a public channel, I highly recommend it. My wager is that you’ll have the last song, ‘Copperline,’ in your head for the rest of the week.

And while we’re on a musical number (no pun intended) I’ve been working on this little song for piano for quite some time now. It’s a simple little piece, but it’s mine. This morning I got the chance to try it out on a friend’s piano, and it didn’t half sound nice. Exciting and fulfiling to hear your own music on the instrument it was written for. I felt an odd connection with the piano, almost like I went *into* it. I play alot by feeling, and this was the ultimate experience for that.

Speaking of odd connections, my brain is absolutely overflowing with Emersonian philosophy, as that’s what I’ve been studying lately for school, and I’ve begrudgingly come to know that I actually agree with him on some of the Bigger Questions. I’ll leave you with a couple of quotes from Emerson’s essay Nature. Perhaps you’ll find them interesting. Perhaps they’ll make your head hurt. Read at your own risk…

‘Idealism sees the world in God. It beholds the whole circle of persons and things, of actions and events, of country and religion, not as painfully accumulated, atom after atom, act after act, in an aged creeping Past, but as one vast picture, which God paints on the instant eternity, for the contemplation of the soul.’

‘Each creature is only a modification of the other; the likeness in them is more than the difference, and their radical law is one and the same…. So intimate is this Unity, that, it is easily seen, it lies under the undermost garment of nature, and betrays its source in Universal Spirit. For it pervades Thought also. Every universal truth which we express in words implies or supposes every other truth.’

Leave a Reply

