The Belated Week So Far

Bloody hell, it’s Thursday. I’m a day off this week, which could have been interesting considering the week’s deadlines.

What can I say? It’s been a depressing week, as those of you who follow the blog have read. Today feels a bit better, if only because I’m dazed enough not to know otherwise yet. πŸ™‚ I’m only joking– I tend not to stay down for a ridiculously long time.

As it turns out, the small bit of integration that happened over the weekend was a *good* thing. That worried me. It was the first time someone with a major role had integrated. But, she knew what she was doing. I feel more connected now. Maybe that’s what the crazy time thing was about. Maybe she was preparing me to step back into things fully and I needed to go through a sense of catching up or something. In any event, it’s good to feel like I’m inside time again.

Last night during a break from school stuff, I started thinking about my best friend. More specifically, *Lily* started thinking about him. She absolutely adores him, particularly Ugh!, the pretend internal caveman. We created a DID system for him so he wouldn’t feel left out. Lily and Timmy, her partner in crime, definitely believe in my best friend’s ‘alters,’ though. πŸ˜‰ Anyway, I was thinking about the things he and I have been through together and came up with a crazy list:

1. All the Harry Potter movies that have been released so far. (We like them shamelessly!)

2. Seven New Year’s Eves.

3. Both of our undergraduate graduations, one semester apart. Those were the days…

4. My string of temp jobs and his change of career plans. (Not that one of us is more stable than the other.)

5. More stuff with our families than any one chat show could possibly handle.

It went on sort of like that for a bit, but those were the ones that stuck out most. It’s been such a pleasure to watch him develop the sense of confidence, personality, and– in his words– general smart-assedness– over the years. I know he’ll do great things. And I know that while he’s reading this, he’ll be thinking ‘Awww…blush blush blush’ to himself. (Or maybe Ugh! is. I lose track.)

Thanks, best friend. And I don’t mean that sarcastically this time. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

