An Open Letter

Dear Blog Scrapers,

How are you?  It’s been a couple of days since you’ve noticed my blog, and I’m starting to get worried.  It’s not that I don’t appreciate your attention, really, but I think our relationship has reached its final stage.  I’m touched that you think my ideas are good enough to make people buy things.  I’m even happier to see it’s the psych stuff that really interests you.  You’ve learned my secret– I don’t *really* write those personal posts about difficult topics to help people.  I do it for the advertising!  How intuitive of you to suss that one out and come to the only logical conclusion.

But, as I said, our time together is at an end.  And please handle this with dignity.  You know that link to the admin email address?  The one that says ‘remove my blog NOW’?  I’ll always use that link.  No matter how many times you reach out, I’ll always respond in that same cruel way.  Please understand that this is for the best.  You see, I was happy with my little spot in the web until the neon advertisements and flashing banners threatened to make it an urban ruin.  So, really, it’s not you, it’s me.  I’m just comfortably settled in my rut.  I *like* living in this nostalgic mindset of how things used to be before there were scrapers.  Understandably, you may question my resistance to technology and my commitment to the fine services which you work so hard to promote (who *wouldn’t* want that nifty herbal psych remedy, after all??).  But still, I bid you a fond adieu.  And I promise I’ll think of you every time I see a flashing advert for the latest miracle cure.

Love and luck,

englishrain

Leave a Reply

