The Oblivious Week So Far

I say oblivious because my others have been out quite alot more than me this week.

Yesterday Mairead and I got the gift we’ve been waiting for– Justin Currie’s solo CD called ‘What Is Love For.’  I know this will come as a great surprise to the regular visitors here, but I highly recommend the disc.  My favourite is track three ‘Walking Through You,’ but several of the songs have stuck in my head.  It’s definitely a different sound from his work with Del Amitri, darker somehow.  The songs are somewhat more structured, too.  In most there is a definite chorus or refrain, unlike alot of the DA stuff.  Not that I don’t absolutely love basically every song he’s ever done.  Excellent disc, beautiful songs, and that lovely voice.  How could you possibly go wrong with a combination like that?

In other news, I’m preparing for a trip to visit my FOC.  I’ve missed them all terribly.  It will be great to be with people who accept me as I am.  I’ve been feeling incredibly out of sorts lately, as I’ve lost that feeling of belonging somewhere.  Maybe I’ll find that feeling, pack it up in my suitcase, and bring it back with me.  What a lovely souvenir.  Lily is also ecstatic about the trip.  She feels very safe around ‘the people’ and gets quite the laugh out of there excitable and lovable dog.  This will be a welcome escape.

And for your reading pleasure, check out this story about a woman who was determined to get her licence.  I’m not quite sure how to react– is it humorous?  Uplifting?  Regardless, it’s strange.

2 thoughts on “The Oblivious Week So Far

  1. Hi, it’s great to come across another Justin / Del Amitri fan. I managed to see him live acouple of times in the last year and if you ever get the chance I recommend it highly, YouTube has some great clips. I don’t know if you’d be interested but I’ve written a script (loosely speaking) for a musical using Dels songs. I’ve posted it on my blog, take a look at http://daveross.wordpress.com/2007/10/17/jimmy-blue-an-invitation-to-a-blog-musical/ and follow the links.

    Hope you enjoy it.

    Dave Ross

  2. Hi Dave,

    I was incredibly fortunate to see him live this year, and yes, it was amazing. He has more talent than any one person should. 🙂

    Haven’t read your script yet, but am looking forward to it. It’s really cool that you’ve written something like that. I toyed with the idea of writing a sort of fictionalised biography using their song titles as section titles and short clips as intros to the sections. Haven’t had the chance to work on that at all, but maybe some day…

    Cheers to you!

Leave a Reply

