Question – Revisiting the Scene

I’ll soon be re-visiting the scene of an incredibly difficult experience in my life.  I have been back to that area before, but this will be the first time I’ve spent a significant amount of time there.  The work I have to do there is rather important, but my anxiety over being back there is so extreme that it keeps getting in the way.  I need some cooperation from the internal folks, but advice from those of you have have been in this situation before would be greatly appreciated.  This particular scene also affects some of the grief issues I’m dealing with, so for those of you who are not abuse survivors but who have returned to the scene of a loss, I’d appreciate your opinions as well.

Feel free to contact me privately if you’d be more comfortable doing that as opposed to leaving a comment on the site.  You can reach me by clicking the ‘contact me’ link or sending email to ec1[underscore]englishrain[at]yahoo[dot]com.

ec1_englishrain@yahoo.com

Thanks in advance.

2 thoughts on “Question – Revisiting the Scene

  1. My only advice about this is to not force returning to the scene if there is strong inner resistance. It’s not worth it if you put yourself through hell to go there. When the time is right, you’ll know it.

    I’ve revisited the scene of my childhood abuses a few times, but never for more than a matter of minutes. I want to go back one day and take my time soaking up the environment and atmosphere. I want to pay homage to the child I was and I don’t feel as if I can do that in such a rush.

    There is no right or wrong way to do this, so be gentle with yourself!

  2. Hi beauty– I’m happy to report that things went *much* better than I expected. It was a bit difficult, but all in all, it was just about concentrating on why I was there and the important work I was there to do.

    You’re so brave to have returned to the area where your abuse occurred. I really like the idea of going out of respect for who you were as a child. To repeat your advice, be gentle with yourself as well.

    Take care.

Leave a Reply

