Book Recommendation

There are loads of books on grief of all sorts.  Some are incredibly melodramatic, some are absolutely harsh, and some are actually helpful.  If you’re looking for a book on parental bereavement, I highly recommend Beyond Tears by Ellen Mitchell.  It’s actually a compilation of the experiences of nine bereaved mothers.  Living in the middle of nowhere without a great lot of access to resources that help on this issue, I searched the local library for books that might help.  This one made me feel like I was having a conversation with each of the contributors.  It also helped me understand some of my own ‘odd’ reactions.  There’s a certain comfort in feeling normal in your abnormality.

It’s worth the read if you need it.

Leave a Reply

