The Boxer

Excellent song by Simon and Garfunkel that I relate to in an odd way.  It’s not exactly my story, but so much of it resonates with me.

There are days when I just feel tired.  Not in the sense that I didn’t get enough sleep, but in the sense that the weight of my past settles on me and I feel unable to stand with that weight on my shoulders.  It’s hard to explain, but I’m guessing many of the trauma survivors who read this will know exactly what I mean.

‘The Boxer’ talks about someone who leaves home early and survives the streets on his own.  The last few lines are what I relate to so well, and again, I’m sure this will resonate with other trauma survivors as well:

In the clearing stands a boxer, and a fighter by his trade,

And he carries the reminders of ev’ry glove that laid him down

Or cut him till he cried out in his anger and his shame

‘I am leaving, I am leaving.’

But the fighter still remains

Regardless of the trauma, people have an innate sense of survival.  Even if we have to back out sometimes or take routes we don’t exactly want to take, the fighters within us still remain.

6 thoughts on “The Boxer

  1. Hi,

    I relate so much with both the feeling of being weighed down and exhausted by the past AND to that verse from ‘The Boxer’!So many times I have felt incredibly passionate about that verse – almost as if I’ve wanted the world (and myself) to know that if the fighter didn’t remain then I would be gone completely. I have song it from the pit of my belly as an encouragement to myself to keep going!

    Powerful!

    Jean

    • Hi Jean– isn’t it amazing how so many people find peace and comfort in the same music, poetry, art, and things like that? It really does let you know how powerful artistic mediums can be.

  2. Hi,

    Thank you for your reply.
    I will write back properly, but not tonight – I’m so tired.

    Do you live in England? I live in Hertfordshire, near to Stansted airport.

    Jean
    x

    • Jean– I’m a Liverpudlian by birth. Lived in London for quite some time as well. Currently, I’m living in America but would love to return home some day on a more permanent basis.

      Please feel free to contact me by email as well at ec1_englishrain@yahoo.com

  3. Hi, this is my favourite S&G lyric and has kept me going for soooo long.

    I think when you say
    “Regardless of the trauma, people have an innate sense of survival.”
    you are summing up the very nature of DID – the brain/soul does not want to die, does not want to be destroyed by the trauma so it generates an amazingly complex system to deal with it. It’s just sorting it all out afterwards that’s a pain in the @rse.

    Thanks for posting!

    • Hi BTC– I agree completely that sorting it all out is the pain. Your summation of DID is wonderful; I hadn’t thought about it in such black and white terms. Perfect explanation that could help those new to the world of DID/trauma.

      Glad you enjoyed the post!

Leave a Reply

