Major Changes

In London, I was training to be a physician assistant.  I was roughly 3/4 through the programme when we moved to America.  Putting on my best optimism hat, I took that as a chance to go further and enter in to medical school.  At University here, then, I started in premed.  Then changed to English.  Then to premed.  Then to English, et. c.

At the time, I didn’t know about my others.  I thought I was only plainly insane.  What a relief.  😉

Even though I’ve finished an advanced liberal arts degree, some of the insiders *still* hate literature.  Some wish we’d finished a med school programme or a nursing programme.  Just *something* medical.  On any given day, you can find me buried in a pile of chemistry and/or calculus textbooks working problems or memorising formulas.  By the afternoon, however, I might be working on a conference paper about Shakespeare’s histories or researching some obscure literary critical theory.

One of these days, I’ll be the best-read doctor in America.  🙂

Leave a Reply

