To Journal or Not to Journal…

…that is the modern-day question.

I used to be an avid journal writer.  In fact, it’s been my end of the year tradition for quite some time to purchase the next year’s journal.  I have a collection of them starting with the first I wrote after moving to the US all the way to the current.  They chronicle the major events of my life as well as the day-to-day.  They’re truly like reading an autobiography.

This year’s journal, though, is not even half filled.  Blogging has largely taken the place of journalling for me, and I’m not sure that’s a good thing.  On the other hand, journalling has become almost traumatic these days.  Writing in my private journal, I force myself to look deeply into my mind and assess all of those pesky little fears and emotions banging about in there.  Last night I tried to journal.  After about a paragraph, I stopped abruptly and wrote that I was getting triggered.

Blogging has been an amazing experience so far, and I intend to keep pounding away at my laptop.  I just find it curious how blogging seems to have changed my journalling so radically.

2 thoughts on “To Journal or Not to Journal…

  1. Things change. I think it’s great you found a medium that helps you. For me, I still keep my private journal (electronic) and hand-written journal (writing and drawing), but I don’t fill them as much since the blogging. Maybe you could try to make some drawings in your journal??? Paul.

    • Very interesting. I wonder if this is a common phenomenon among bloggers overall… more of a move towards that digital age. Part of me (in a non-DID sense) will likely always hold on to that old school paper format. 🙂

Leave a Reply

