Equivalent

Today is the 12th anniversary of my sister’s death.  She has now been dead the same amount of years that she was alive.  I don’t like this tip of the scale.  It feels very much like she’s getting further and further from my life.

Last night, I had this bizarre dream where I saw my sister reaching for me.  As I walked toward her, though, she fell further and further in to shadows.  I can’t claim to know what happens after death, but I do hope it’s more than just shadows.

I’ll re-live the afternoon of her death over and over today.  It plays out like a horror film.    At any given time on any given day, those images flash in my mind.  Today, though, they are in the forefront.  I loved my sister dearly, and I hope that– in whatever form she’s taken– she knows I still do.

Leave a Reply

