The Single Life

My post-integration life has been interesting.  There is quite a learning curve in going from we to I.  It has been easier in some ways, but it’s also been lonely a time or two.  If I hear voices now, they’re the psychotic type that comment on me and my life negatively.  I sometimes miss the *nice* voices.

Responsibility is a whole new issue.  I always tried to take responsibility for what my others did and said, but now it’s all on me for definite.  There is no one else to blame for the good or the bad.  It makes things easier in terms of making decisions and remembering actions.  Still, it’s humbling to know everything falls on my shoulders now.

Then there’s the issue of loneliness.  For a while, I had to surround myself with others via text or email or communication of some form.  I couldn’t stand the silence.  Now, although I’m still not the best with it, I can handle silence for a time.  Sometimes I even enjoy it.  I never thought I’d get re-accustomed to it.

So would I do the integration thing again?  Yes.  In a second’s time.  That’s a question I’m asked in email frequently.  Again, this is *not* the route for some.  And that’s just fine.  Being functional is the goal, regardless of parts.  For me, though, this was the route.  And I do not regret it.

2 thoughts on “The Single Life

  1. I think I just sort of blended back together as I did the healing work. In the beginning, there were huge integrations leaving only a few that I knew of. One by one, they went in until now I feel as if either one of two things have happened. Either I am fully blended, although still amnesic (for which I am actually grateful), or there are still some who are simply very quiet. Since I started off “quiet” (which I know is different than most), it is entirely believable that it could be the case once again for me.

    I hope good things for you in your healing walk.

Leave a Reply

